No Resolutions in 2011

Standard

Every year as December comes to an end, I always start to feel a little panicky. People begin talking about all their profound New Year’s Resolutions. Ugh! One more way I set myself up to fail! This year my New Year’s Resolution was to make NO resolutions in 2011. Perfect Solution!

Instead, I set some goals for myself.

This is the year that I get financially HEALTHY.  How? Well for starters, I am currently reading Dave Ramsey’s “Total Money Makeover”. I am getting rid of the credit cards and now CASH IS KING!

I have also set a goal for myself to blog more frequently. I am going to journal myself through 2011. I found a 50 Day Challenge that I will share with you later.

I am participating in the Read the Bible in a Year program with Grace Community Church. Yes, it is January 13 and I am already behind, but I am not going to beat myself up, I am just going to do the best I can. Any time I spend in God’s word this year will be better than last year!

I think my goals for 2011 can be best summarized by saying this. I am going to take care of ME this year.  When you fly on an airplane…you know the little speech they give at the beginning of the flight. “If we lose cabin pressure, the oxygen masks will fall from the overhead compartment. If you are travelling with small children, please put your own mask on first and then assist your child.”  That is what I am going to do in 2011.  I am putting my own mask on first and then, I will assist others. I am going to take care of my financial situation first.  (If I am homeless, jobless, etc. I can no longer provide for others.)  If I keep all my feelings bottled up, I will explode (hence the journaling/blogging). I can’t think of a better guide for living than God’s word. I will seek Him with all my heart and He will lead the way for me. I am stepping out in Faith and Trusting God to meet all my needs.

I hope you will follow along my journey with me. I have asked my inner circle to pray with me on this financial, emotional and spiritual journey. I hope you will as well.

About sarah shelton

I am a child of God, wife to the sweet man, mother of two, step-mom to three, RaRa to 7 more, sister, and friend. My seasons have changed, yet again! I used to be a daughter to earthly parents, but now I am a daughter to the King. We have adopted two precious pups, Piper Joy and Nuggles, and our lives revolve around God, each other, our children, grandchildren and of course our fur-babies. I met the sweet man on match.com and we have been together ever since. I am a firm believer that God instrumented that encounter. This has been a difficult season, but I know WHO holds my future, so I will walk this journey of grief and remember the poem that my Sweet Daddy loved so much, "Footprints in the Sand". Right now, there is just one set and they are not MINE.

2 responses »

    • Thanks, Traci! I miss you terribly! I hate we don’t get to see each other more often. I thought about you the other day…someone was talking about doing the “next right thing”. Made me think of all the times you told me that your sweet Daddy said “when you don’t know what to do next, do the next right thing”. I love that saying.

      Give the girls my love. I still want to go to Quitman with you one Sunday.

Leave a comment